Little Writings. Some Rants.

//Musings. Frustrations. The Whole Shebang

So, took a look at The Book for the… well, maybe second time this summer outside of figuring out backstories and worldbuilding. (Check out some of that here.) And yknow what I figured?

Well… I’ve mentioned in previous posts that there were specific bridges I knew I’d struggle with crossing, but I’d handle those when I got there. In another post, I may have even mentioned that I’d met that bridge, and decided to edit around it for the time being.

 

Well…

I need to rewrite it. Entirely. From the ground up.

There’s no other way to thoughtfully progress the story past the bridge, because the bridge is literally blown to pieces before you even cross it.

 

But I’m starting from the beginning. I’m tearing down walls and rebuilding them. I realize that this is NOT the first time I’ve done this, and with just about 60,000 words (48k of the book currently and the rest in backstory which I can drag in), I have a LOT of material to work with. I guess that’s the head’s side of the coin. The tail’s side is that just about 60,000 words is a lot of stuff to rummage through and pull out the best of.

So, excuse me as I print out 30 double sided pages at a time and sit on my living room floor with scissors and glue sticks as I paste parts here and there into a notebook.

I get it, such a waste of paper, Poppy!! How could you!? I know, I know, it kills me a little too. But the loading times into some of these documents… is brutal. And sometimes I need to see things side to side and NOT on a screen. It makes my brain light up in prettier ways.

So, when I mentioned there might be more sneak peeks/back stories (like this.) from The Book, I’m afraid I’ll need to post-pone a lot of that posting (ahaha. Pun totally intended) until I have a more solid visualization of what is real and what is.. well.. fiction, as far as the end-product goes.

If I sat down and did this, and worked through it with a criminal, superpower level focus, I could probably rack together these strings and pull the book out in maybe a few days. That’s how much content is staying, as far as I know currently. And likely, it would be much longer than it sits. Dude, I have skills. And plans. Except I only wish I had that superhuman focus. Somebody get me some Adderall. And prayers. Lots of prayers. And patience. Oodles of patience.

Anyways, if you want to see more of what I’m up to, please check out our new facebook page! 🙂

As always, with love and smiley faces,

Poppy

7 responses

  1. Good luck, spritzy!! I think it’d be easier to think of this as revising your book, because that’s essentially what you’re doing. You already wrote out the skeleton (draft) and all of our skeletons may have a bone here or there that isn’t doing what it should. You got this girl! Email me if you’d like and I’ll read it over for you since it’s summer and I can actually do that lol. I’ll be rooting for you! You’re a fantastic writer and I can’t to see what you bring to life ^^

    August 6, 2017 at 7:08 pm

    • spritzyclover

      Thanks Leafy! You’re always such an encouraging friend 🙂 My offer to help edit your book still stands as well, silly 😉

      August 8, 2017 at 6:23 pm

      • ^^ Awww haha thank you! Want to work on each other’s this summer?

        August 9, 2017 at 12:37 am

      • spritzyclover

        ROFLMAO, Leafy, school starts next week 😉 but yes, absolutely 🙂

        August 9, 2017 at 3:57 am

      • Awesome!!! I’m almost done with this current revision lol and it’s finally looking like what I want it to be ^^ How is yours?

        August 9, 2017 at 3:37 pm

      • spritzyclover

        haha, well. it’s coming along. This is the fifth or seventh revision. Just gotta hunker down and get’er’dun. yknow? 🙂

        Well, you know how to share yours with me so let me know!!

        August 9, 2017 at 4:08 pm

      • You got this!!! I’m on my 4th haha so I get you.

        And for sure!!

        August 9, 2017 at 5:00 pm

Leave a Reply

