Little Writings. Some Rants.

Battle Budding: Battle Buddies Part Six

tumblr_mvevkz1i7q1qaoew9o2_1280

This is art from here. Not Mine.

***This is a continuation of the Battle Buddies Rune Factory 4 Fan Fiction.

I hope you guys liked that last one. Sorry there wasn’t more Doug x Dylas or Dylas x Arthur. I was thinking of continuing this one to break Dylas’ heart and go Frey x Arthur as some of you have asked for…

All in good time, my dear readers! ;D all in good time.

I just wanna thank you guys for the likes and the views 😀 Thanks for the support. Please comment, as well. 🙂 Let me see if there’s anything you’d like me to write (pairings, for example. –this is not exclusive to the RF4 universe. — or particular scenes.) I’d be very happy to share the love.

Also, let me know what you think in the comments below!

Okay… Now for disclaimers: If you have not read one, two, three, four, or five… Please do so. I do not claim to or own any of these characters, or the fan art displayed. All are property of their respective owners.

Without further ado, please enjoy this next chapter of Battle Buddies!****

Battle Budding.

Frey cursed to herself as she patted down her hair and tried desperately to wipe soil from her cheeks. Her spinach had grown a little quicker than she’d expected. Normally, that would be cause for celebration, but with a crop being shipped out meant another crop planted. She couldn’t believe how late she was running.

She scrubbed her face and changed her clothes and all but ran out of her room, tripping over her feet in the process.

“Whoah, hey!”

She landed against something solid and warm. He smelled of clean laundry, warm cooking, and… was that hay?

She froze. She knew that smell.

She recoiled, red-faced, to find that Dylas had caught her from her doorway. She swallowed, standing up straight and fixing her hair nervously. Good going, girl. “Are you okay?” Dylas asked, though his face was also bright red.

Frey didn’t respond, tucking a snag of hair behind her ear. “Dylas.”

Dylas’ face turned a lighter pink, rather than darker. He cleared his throat. “Frey.”

Frey gnawed on her lip. She eyed him up and down, her heart thudding painfully in her chest. “Can I hear your answer?”

“I wanna ask you something first,” Dylas said, face returning from red to its normal color. He looked at her with such a mature gaze that Frey’s heart pitter-pattered away in such a sweet way, spurring butterflies in her stomach.

He frowned. “You know I’m a bad talker, right?”

Frey raised an eyebrow, taken aback. “Ah… I know,” she said. She wasn’t entirely sure where this was going.

“I’m not all that smart, either,” he said, running a hand over his mane, gaze still earnest. “I act before I think.”

Frey raised an eyebrow, and had to stifle a surprised laugh. “What?”

His gaze turned… was that worry? Or was it sadness? Frey couldn’t tell, but didn’t have much time to reflect on it. “Yeah. I do.” Dylas took a pause. “So, uh…”

His eyes hit the ground, and his feet began to fidget. He felt his hands grow sweaty.

He felt the crumbling strength of the words he was going to say as though they were about to burst forth from his lips, then the crippling fear of the consequences scuttled him back to facing the ground. “I… uh…” He took a deep breath. He’d been stuttering too long. Frey was waiting for an answer. He bundled all of his courage together “Argh!!” he yelled, smashing his foot into the ground. Anything to keep him stable. “Hell with it!” He looked her straight in the eye, “I’m only going to say this once, so listen up!” A wave of emotions filled him and he pushed the words out as best he could. “I L…” His tongue stuck. He tried again. “I li…li…like you.”

“I know.”

Dylas’ heart stopped. He looked at Frey to find that she was grinning. “What?!”

Frey nodded. Dylas took that as an opportunity to continue. His expression fell grave. “So…  I guess I have one question for you.” His heart beat faster. “If you don’t mind a dumbass like me, will you…” he swallowed, beginning to lose his wind, “…go out with me?”

Frey smiled, her face brightened. “Yeah.”

Dylas felt shocked. The world seemed to tumble on beneath and away from him. He wasn’t sure if he should be happy, excited, elated… shock permeated it all. “You will?” He swallowed, his heart thumping in his chest. He felt his face redden and turned quickly away. “Dammit. This is hard on a guy’s heart, y’know.”

Frey giggled, bringing his attention back to the matter at hand. She was beautiful. As usual. Beautiful and… “So.. I… uhh… I look forward to this, Frey.” He tried his hand at a smile.

Frey giggled again. “Me too, Battle Buddy.”

Dylas inched forward towards her, unsure of what to do next. Do they kiss? Do they hug? Does he smile and walk away, bidding her a beautiful day? Before he realized it, Frey followed his forward inching and was nestled in his arms, her own arms wrapped around his middle. He was surprised but felt himself melt into the embrace. She was warm and soft, but the softness hinted at a strong beneath her skin. And she smelled of flowers and… compost. He couldn’t help but smile at that. He didn’t want to let go.

But they couldn’t stay like that forever. They finally pulled apart, leaving cold emptiness between them. “Wait, Frey.” He started, suddenly bashful again. “Should I call you what I always have?” He smiled and gave her a few off the top of his head, “I could call you Princess or Young Lady, or…”

“You could call me Honey or Darling, too,” Frey teased, nose crinkling with humor. “No, call me what you always have.”

“That makes things easier,” he breathed in relief. “Did you want to call me anything different?”

Frey’s eyes glittered, “Like Dally or….” Her eyebrows arched, “Big D?”

“What the heck?!” Dylas exclaimed. “Where did that come from??”

Frey cracked up laughing. “Big D it is—”

Dylas was resigning himself to this fiend. “O-Only if you never! And I mean NEVER! Say it in front of the others—”

Frey giggled and took his arm, “I’m joking, I’m joking.” She smiled and twined her fingers in his, making him blush. “I don’t want to call you anything but Dylas.”

He angled his face away from her prying eyes again, letting out a groan.

Frey smiled and retracted her hand. “Too soon?”

Dylas shook his head and caught her fingers again. “I’m just… not used to it.” He smiled.

“That’s nice,” Frey said, nodding at his lips.

Dylas frowned. “Don’t say things like that.”

Frey grinned. “I’m looking forward to it…”

“Me too.”

Dylas was warmth and fire. He was confidence. “Then… I’ll see you later then?”

Frey nodded, “Yeah. See you. Maybe we can go hunting sometime together.”

Dylas grinned, “More beetles or more fish?”

“Yes.”

Dylas cocked an eyebrow. “So I’m still your Battle Buddy?”

Frey grinned, “Always.”

Leave a Reply

