Little Writings. Some Rants.

//Let’s Talk…

About Fanfiction. About society. About socially acceptable things. You know, the things I tend not to do, not for lack of trying…

But let’s break this down a little bit: Not just any sort of fanfiction.
See, I need your opinion on something. And maybe this will spur more posts and more writings, so I need you to respond to me honestly.

Granted, I may not even take your sage advice and do whatever I want anyways… I’m a rebel like that. Besides. This is my blog and I’ll do what I want to.

Everybody reads fan fiction. Let’s just be frank: if you’ve ever picked up a novel, it’s a fan fiction of life. That’s right, I went there. We’re all a part of the grand scheme of the life fandom. Some of us are crazier than others, and some of us are just as plain-ol-jane-this-ain’t-my-only-thang fans. (I guess the difference between occasionally watching anime, or having an interest in Japanese history, and weaboos.)

https://i2.wp.com/new4.fjcdn.com/pictures/Weeaboo_eae2d4_5565648.jpg

Some of us are especially into certain sublevels of the life fandom. Some of us are addicted to writing. Some of us really like fan fiction based on books or video games or… you get the hang of this idea.

TL;DR: I’m stalling.

If I haven’t lost you yet, here’s where it gets juicy.

If you’ve seen some of my previous posts, you’ll notice that I’ve mentioned this GRAND, CRAZY MYTHOLOGICAL THING CALLED…. The Book. (more on that here.)

SO. I’m really wanting to write fan fiction. Of. The Book.

Well, Poppy. Isn’t that just opening up alternate realities for your characters?
Well. Yes, but that takes too long to write out.

 

TL;DR: I’m gonna write fan fiction of The Book. Suck it.

6 responses

  1. I think it’s definitely a controversial topic, especially if you’re planning on getting into the publishing industry. I’ve never done fanfics myself and I admit it’s because I’m terrified of the horror stories that several “once fanfic authors” have gone through.
    I haven’t read this author’s books and I can’t remember who it was, but she went into detail over the unforgiving fans of hers that threatened her and ruined her success after she was published. She couldn’t write “free stuff” and her “original” works were now heralded as worse than anything she’d ever done.
    I think that’s ridiculous. Any creativity should be encouraged so long as it’s not direct plagiarism. The reason E. L James was so successful (besides the smut) was because she was one of the VERY few who ever broke out of the dreaded fanfic pool that some readers call it, and was able to find an audience. She sure had her moments of being shredded by readers, but it’s her success that has led to so many people wondering about the future of publishing, when really they shouldn’t be thinking “Publish my fics lol” and actually write.
    Which is what you are doing.
    It’s just so disheartening to think that the people you write for most likely might turn against you once you become published. I hope that you do get published and have a wonderful career if you do go that route.
    I just wish people would realize that fics aren’t evil. Only the people that plagiarize are.

    Sorry for the rant lol this topic is so controversial.

    February 1, 2017 at 1:10 am

    • spritzyclover

      No, I’m really happy for the rant–I didn’t think about those things 😀

      Thanks for the feedback, Leafy!!

      Maybe if I change the names of the characters, I could get away with it ;P

      February 1, 2017 at 2:13 am

      • Haha perhaps? But then again think about your favorite fandoms. You are devoted to them and know them sooooo well. Someone will figure it out. If you aim for publishing, try and develop them into characters that can fit the plot you made. Not in convention with the original work, but your own. It’s difficult, but it’s the way to becoming a writer. I wish you the best!! ^^ (and plus, legal battles aren’t fun and there are a ton of people who get into a lot of trouble for plagiarism and they tried to mask it )

        February 1, 2017 at 2:44 am

  2. spritzyclover

    Oh, I’m not trying to publish my fan fiction based on other works!!! 🙂 I mean taking stuff from my writing (The Book, we’ve exchanged chapters, i think?) My original writing. Using my original works –> using my own original characters –> removing them from the settings that I already have them in in The Book (The Book is scifi alien spaceships. The writing would be parallel worlds, so to say, of the same, original, characters in, say, like… Merrikh as a mercenary that attacks a trading caravan sort of stuff :P)

    February 1, 2017 at 3:32 am

  3. Pingback: Battle Buddies Part Two: Beach Buddies | .How the Fairies Roam.

  4. Pingback: Mercenary Merrikh: Tailoring Merrikh | .How the Fairies Roam.

Leave a Reply

